East Asia Joint Workshop on Fields and Strings 2018


Quantum field theory and String/M-theory have been major tools for drawing our theoretical view of the fundamental aspects of Nature. Recently there has been a rapid progress in our understanding of the deeper structure of these theories. We regard that a regular annual meeting of active scientists in East Asia would provide an opportunity to exchange ideas, forge collaborations and collegiality, and facilitate the progress in this wonderful research subject.


KIAS will host the 3rd East Asia Joint Workshop on Fields and Strings this year. Speakers are invited from China, Taiwan, Japan as well as Korea.  In addition to long talks given by the invited speakers, we plan to have short talks as well as posters, which registered participants can apply for. (Please note that the number of short talks and posters are limited.)


Our budget is quite limited, and we can support only the local expenses at most. The participants who are planning to stay at KIAS dormitory are kindly asked to register early, since we can reserve not so many rooms this year.


We look forward to seeing you at KIAS.



Invited Speakers


Bin Chen (PKU), Song He (ITP), Min-Xin Huang (USTC), Wei Li (ITP), Hong Lu (Tianjin U.), Jian-Xin Lu (USTC), Gang Yang (ITP), Shuang-Yong Zhou (USTC),  Yang Zhou (Fudan U.)


Heng-Yu Chen (NTU), Chong-Sun Chu (NTHU& ICTS), Pei-Ming Ho (NTU), Yu-Tin Huang (NTU), Feng-Li Lin (NTNU)


Koji Hashimoto (Osaka U.), Satoshi Iso (KEK), Hiroshi Itoyama (OCU), Yoshi Kitazawa (KEK), Shigeki Sugimoto (YITP),Takao Suyama (KEK), Tadashi Takayanagi (YITP), Asato Tsuchiya (Shizuoka U.), Kentaroh Yoshida (Kyoto U.)


Dongsu Bak (UOS), Dongmin Gang(SNU), Hee-Cheol Kim (POSTECH), Keun-Young Kim (GIST), Sungjay Lee (KIAS), Ioannis Papadimitrou (KIAS), Jeong-Hyuck Park (Sogang U.), Sang-jin Sin (Hanyang U.), Piljin Yi (KIAS)



Organizing Committee


Chong-Sun Chu (NCTS / NTHU)

Yoshihisa Kitazawa (KEK)

Kimyeong Lee (KIAS) - Chair

Jian-Xin Lu (USTC)



Local Organizing Committee


Nakwoo Kim (Kyung Hee U. / KIAS)

Sungjay Lee (KIAS)

Kimyeong Lee (KIAS)

Piljin Yi (KIAS)