The Kavli Asian Winter School (KAWS) on Strings, Particles and Cosmology is a pan-Asian collaborative effort of high energy theorists from China, India, Japan and Korea to give young researchers in Asia an opportunity to come together and learn about the latest developments in high energy theory, from leading experts on the subject.


This school is aimed towards advanced graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and active researchers in the field. This is the 13th in a series of Asian Winter Schools that have been organized on a rotating basis between Japan, China, India and Korea. We welcome students from all of these participating countries as well as students from outside.


 All outstanding participants who get selected will be provided with on-campus housing.  Limited travel support is available only for some of people who present the poster. 


The 2019 School is generously supported by the Kavli foundation. It is also partially supported by funds from Korea Institute for Advanced Study (KIAS) and Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP).


The previous Asian Winter Schools in this series have provided young researchers with opportunity for discussions with leading experts in different areas and also for initiating collaboration with other young researchers belonging to different countries participating in the activity. We hope the 2019 School will continue this tradition.







Thomas Dumitrescu (UCLA)
Gerald Dunne (UConn)

Seok Kim (SNU)
Shota Komatsu (IAS)
Tatsuma Nishioka (Tokyo U)

Mukund Rangamani (UC Davis)

Gary Shiu (Wisconsin U)
Balt van Rees (Durham U)

Kazuya Yonekura (Kyushu U)



[Course Organizers]


Bo Feng (Zhejang Univ,, China)

Abhijit Gadde (TIFR, India)

Song He (ITP Beijing, China)

Seok Kim (SNU, Korea)

Sungjay Lee (KIAS, Korea)

Tatsuma Nishioka (Tokyo Univ., Japan)

Suvrat Raju (ICTS-TIFR, India)

Masahito Yamazaki (Kavli IPMU, Japan)



[Steering Committee]


Bin Chen (PKU, China)

Rajesh Gopakumar (ICTS-TIFR, India)

Koji Hashimoto (Osaka Univ., Japan)

Yoshihisa Kitazawa (KEK, Japan)

Bum-Hoon Lee (Sogang Univ., S.Korea)

Kimyeong Lee (KIAS, S.Korea)

Miao Li (ITP-CAS, China &Sun Yat-Sen Univ.,China)

Jianxin Lu (Univ. of Sc. &Tech, China)

Soonkeon Nam (Kyung Hee Univ., S.Korea)

Hirosi Ooguri (Caltech USA &Kavli IPMU, Japan)

Ashoke Sen (HRI, India)

Sang Jin Sin (Hanyang Univ., S.Korea)

Spenta Wadia (ICTS-TIFR, India)



[Advisory Board]


David Gross (KITP, USA)

Andrew Strominger (Harvard Univ., USA)

Hirotaka Sugawara (OIST, Japan)

Shing-Tung Yau (Harvard Univ., USA)



[Local Organization Committee]


Seungjoon Hyun (Yonsei U.)  

Nakwoo Kim (Kyung Hee U. / KIAS) 

Bum-Hoon Lee (Sogang U.)

Kimyeong Lee (KIAS, Chair)

Sungjay Lee (KIAS)

Wonwoo Lee (Sogang U.)

Jeong-Hyuck Park (Sogang U.)

Piljin Yi (KIAS)