The 9th KIAS Workshop on

Cosmology and Structure Formation


November 2nd-6th, 2020



Home Home > Home

     The workshop will be held at Korea Insitute for Advanced Study in Republic of Korea between 2nd and 6th of November 2020.  The purpose of this workshop is to bring together the world-wide researchers for open and active discussions about recent challenging issues on the cosmology and structure formation. The workshop program is made including theoretical cosmology, cosmological observations, computational astrophysics, galaxy formation and evolution, gravitational lensing, and the artificial intelligience application to various astrophysical problems. 

     However, owing to the ongoing pandemic threatening to the global health care, we changed the format of the conference to a hybrid like in-person and online presentations. The onsite talks will be given by speakers who can come to the meeting place and the online talks will be arranged for speakers outside Korea who can give talks using the online conference tools. All presentations will be streamed online for participants who can not attend the meeting. 

     We are deeply sorry for this change of workshop format and sincerely hope that this may not dissuade people from participating in the workshop. We all expect to see you in-person or online during the workshop and to make the workshop successful as before. We wish you all well in these difficult times.


   The URL to Zoom and the participation guide have been sent to those registered. Please contact us if you haven’t received it yet (cosmology2020[at]





                                  There is no registration fee for this workshop

                                 The registration will begin in late July

                             The deadline for abstract submission is 9 September 2020

                                           The Restaurants located nearby [PDF]




The workshop will focus on :

  • Cosmology
  • Large-Scale Structures in the Universe
  • Computational Techniques in Cosmology
  • Early Universe
  • Evolution of Galaxies



Dates and Venue :

  •  Korea Institute for Advanced Study, Seoul
  • Please see the final notice for the Venue
  • 2 - 6 November 2020




                  Confirmed Invited Speakers


                          François R. Bouchet (IAP)                   

             Pravabati Chingangbam (IIA)

        Sandrine Codis (IAP)

        Mousumi Das (IIA)

        Tamara Davis (Queensland)

        Megan Donahue (Michigan State)

        Marian Douspis (IAS)

        Maret Einasto (Tartu)

        Brad K. Gibson (Hull)

        Raphaël Gobat (PUCV)

        Jiaxin Han (SJTU)

          Yashar Hezave (Montréal)

        Ho Seong Hwang (KASI)

        Jai-chan Hwang (KNU)

        Myungshin Im (SNU)

        Donghui Jeong (PSU)

        M. James Jee (Yonsei)

        Yipeng Jing (SJTU)

      Taysun Kimm (Yonsei)

     Claudia del P. Lagos (ICRAR)

      Hyung Mok Lee (KASI)

      Kyung-Soo Lee (Purdue)

      Myung Gyoon Lee (SNU)

Young-Wook Lee (Yonsei)

Benjamin L'Huillier (Yonsei)

Cheng Li (Tsinghua)

Xiao-Dong Li (SYSU)

Shude Mao (Tsinghua)

Kana Moriwaki (Tokyo)

Teppei Okumura (ASIAA)

Laurence Perreault-Levasseur (Montréal)

Christophe Pichon (IAP)

Dmitri Pogosyan (Alberta)

Pratyush Pranav (Lyon)

Graziano Rossi (Sejong)

Cristiano G. Sabiu (Yonsei)

Arman Shafieloo (KASI)

Owain N. Snaith (Observatoire de Paris)

Jihye Shin (KASI)

Hyunmi Song (Yonsei)

Yasushi Suto (Tokyo)

Xiaohu Yang (SJTU)

Naoki Yoshida (IPMU)

Pengjie Zhang (SJTU)

Yi Zheng (SYSU)




                                                                                  Contact email


                                                                                General Inquiry: cosmology2020[at]

                                                                       Admin Support: avecyoon[at] (JeongEun Yoon)









  •                                                            Juhan Kim (Chair, KIAS)
  •                                                       Pravabati Chingangbam (IIA)
  •                                                                 Brad Gibson (Hull)
  •                                                              Myungsh in Im (SNU)
  •                                                               Donghui Jeong (PSU)
  •                                                          Kyoung-Soo Lee (Purdue)
  •                                                         Takahiko Matsubara (KEK)
  •                                                           Christophe Pichon (IAP)
  •                                                           Arman Shafieloo (KASI)
  •                                                           Keiichi Umetsu (ASIAA)
  •                                                              Xiaohu Yang (SJTU)
  •                                                          Sukyoung K. Yi (Yonsei)
  • Changbom Park
  • Motonari Tonegawa (Co-chair)
  • Hyunsung Jun (Co-chair)
  • Juhan Kim
  • Ena Choi
  • Stephen Appleby
  • Jaehyun Lee
  • Yonghwi Kim
  • Junsup Shim
  • Yongmin Yoon
  • Sungwook E. Hong




                                         8th Workshop '18   7th Workshop '16   6th Workshop '14   5th Workshop '12


                                     4th Workshop '10   3rd Workshop '08   2nd Workshop '06   1st Workshop '04