The 8th Soft Matter Summer School

"Emergence of Life"

 

 

July 20 - Aug 24, 2021           Venue: Zoom Live Streaming

Program Home > Program

 

Program

 

 

1. Jul 20 (Tue) 10 AM KST Hyunggyu Park (KIAS)

              Title: Brief sketch of stochastic thermodynamics, fluctuation theorems, and thermodynamic                                                           uncertainty relations     Abstract     ZOOM link (ID 835 4479 2143)     Youtube     Lecture note

2. Jul 22 (Thur) 10 AM KST Paul Chaikin (NYU): Jul 21 (Wed) 9 PM in New York time

                   Title: Artificial Life, Self-replication, Exponential growth, Mutations, Evolution, Colloidal Architecture,                                      and DNA Activated Colloidal Machines.     Abstract     ZOOM link (ID 886 7071 7161)     Youtube

3. Jul 27 (Tue) 10 AM KST Yongjoo Baek (SNU)

                    Title: Introduction to statistical field theories for active matter     Abstract     ZOOM link (ID 875 9507 8588)                                          Youtube 

4. Jul 29 (Thur) 4 PM KST Pierre Gaspard (U Bruxelles): Jul 29 (Thur) 9 AM in Bruxelles time

                    Title: Kinetics and thermodynamics of molecular information processes     Abstract     ZOOM link (ID 862 3806 7020)    Youtube

5. Aug 3 (Tue) 10 AM KST Kate Adamala (U Minnesota): Aug 2 (Mon) 8 PM in Minnesota time

                    Title: The life of our Last Universal Common Ancestor     Abstract     ZOOM link (ID 858 8625 2138)    Youtube

6. Aug 5 (Thur) 4 PM KST Erez Braun (Technion U): Aug 5 (Thur) 10 AM in Israel time

                    Title: The physics of morphogenesis     Abstract     ZOOM link (ID 844 8368 2354)   Youtube

7. Aug 10 (Tue) 10 AM KST Tetsuya Yomo (East China Normal U): Aug 10 (Tue) 9 AM in Shanghai time

                    Title: Synthesis and experimental evolution of a protocell     Abstract     ZOOM link (ID 886 4541 1856)          

                                Youtube

8. Aug 12 (Thur) 4 PM KST Ulrich Gerland (TUM): Aug 12 (Thur) 9 AM in Munich time

                    Title: Self-replication of informational polymers in non-equilibrium environments: The fidelity issue                                          Abstract     ZOOM link (ID 859 2849 6845)    Youtube

9. Aug 17 (Tue) 4 PM KST Ramin Golestanian (MPI/ Oxford U): Aug 17 (Tue) 8 AM in London time

                    Title: Chemically Active Matter     Abstract     ZOOM link (ID 810 7485 0366)    Youtube

10. Aug 19 (Thur) 10 AM KST Irene Chen (UCLA): Aug 18 (Wed) 6 PM in LA time

                    Title: Emergent by-products of evolution     Abstract     ZOOM link (ID 856 1337 6034)    Youtube

11. Aug 24 (Tue) 10 AM KST Nicholas Hud (Georgia Tech): Aug 23 (Mon) 9 PM in Georgia time

                    Title: Self-Assembly and Alternative Solvents as Key Contributors to the Origins of Life     Abstract                                                   ZOOM link (ID 880 1539 2447)     Youtube